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The Oklahoma Employment Security Commission (OESC) is a one hundred percent (100%) federally
funded state agency dedicated to providing quality service and assistance to Oklahoma businesses and
job seekers.

Our mission is to enhance Oklahoma s economy by:
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Matching jobs and workers to increase the efficiency of local labor markets
Providing unemployment compensation to support unemployed workers and their communities
Preparing a skilled workforce to enhance and align their skillsto meet local 1abor market needs

Gathering, analyzing and disseminating information about the labor force to improve local
economic decisions

OESC has aways been at the forefront of cultivating emerging industries, supporting existing
businesses, and developing and enhancing the skills of the Oklahoma workforce. The challenge of
facing the demands of the labor market and economic uncertainties requires foresight and planning to
provide a skilled workforce for today and the future.

OESC has a vast amount of experience working with and supporting the business community. Whether
assisting with the recruitment and attraction of new employers or sustaining existing employers, OESC
isavital partner of business. Through strategically placed Oklahoma Works centers across the state and
online through the job matching system, employers and job seekers can access a wide array of
workforce services designed to specifically meet their needs.




QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE

Oklahoma Employment Security Commission
P.O. Box 52003
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73152
Phone: (405) 557-7200
Web: https://www.ok.gov/oesc/

EMPLOYER CUSTOMER SERVICE
(405) 552-6799
EMPLOYER FAX NUMBERS

Separations OES-617 (405) 962-7524

Wage Charging OES-502 (405) 962-7504

All Other Tax Issues (405) 557-7271

EZ TAX EXPRESS
Help Desk (405) 557-5452

EMPLOYER ASSISTED CLAIMS
Mass Layoffs

(405) 557-5333

EMPLOYER COMPLIANCE

New Employers, Terminating Employers, (405) 557-5330
Address Changes, Quarterly Reports,

Payments, Amended Reports, Notice of
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RATES
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TAX ENFORCEMENT (405) 557-5449
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Frequently Asked
Questions

WHAT IS“UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFIT
COMPENSATION?”

The Employment Security Act of 1980 provides that
under certain conditions payments of money may be
made to unemployed individuas from an
unemployment compensation fund contributed to by
employers subject to the Act.

WHO PAYS UNEMPLOYMENT
W,/ COMPENSATION TAX?

Oklahoma employers and nonprofit organizations
(other than those described in Section 501(C)(3) of
the IRS Code) pay the tax if they employ one or
more workers in each of twenty different calendar
weeks during a caendar year or if they have a
payroll of $1,500.00 in a calendar quarter or are
liable under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act.

Nonprofit organizations as described in Section
501(C)(3) of the IRS Code will be liable if they
employ four or more workers in each of twenty
different calendar weeks during a calendar year.

All state agencies, cities, towns, counties, public
trusts, or local school districts, including nonprofit
elementary and secondary schools, aso pay
unemployment taxes.

Agricultural employers who have a total payroll of
$20,000.00 in any calendar quarter during a calendar
year or have ten or more employees in twenty
different calendar weeks during a calendar year are
required to also pay the tax.

Domestic employers such as private homes, local
college clubs or local chapters of college fraternities
or sororities who pay $1,000.00 cash remuneration in
any calendar quarter during a calendar year must also
pay the tax.

CAN A CLAIMANT WHO QUITS WORK
RECEIVE UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS?
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A claimant who voluntarily leaves their last work
without good cause connected to the work is subject
to a disqualification which denies benefits until the
claimant becomes reemployed and has earned wages
equal to or in excess of ten (10) times their weekly
benefit amount.

Q/ ARE YOU NOTIFIED OF CLAIMS FILED?

N? 4
Yes, if you are the last employer for whom the

clamant worked at least 15 working days. The
office through which the claim was filed will mail to
you a form entitled “Notice of Application for
Unemployment.”

e CAN YoU PROTEST A CLAIM?

Yes, you should file a protest upon receiving a
“Notice of Unemployment Compensation” when
you know of any reason why the claimant should not
receive Unemployment Benefits. Your reply in
writing must be faxed to (405) 962-7524 within ten
(10) days of the date the notice was mailed. If you
do not reply within ten (10) days, you may be
contacted by telephone for job separation or other
information. Telephone contact does not mean
you are an interested party.

If the individua voluntarily left work or was
discharged by you, your protest should include full
and complete facts. In the case of a voluntary quit,
include the reason the individua gave you for
leaving and explain why you do or do not think the
reason was justified. In the case of a discharge for
misconduct explain in detail the nature of the
misconduct.




Frequently Asked
Questions

WHAT REPLY DO YOuU RECEIVE IN
RESPONSE TO A PROTEST?

When an employer’stimely protest is received, the
employer becomes an interested party to the
claim and will be maled a notice of the
determination made in regard to the clam. The
determination is furnished on a form entitled Notice
of Deter mination.

If the claimant does not have sufficient wages within
their base period to quaify for unemployment
compensation, the employer will be notified by
letter.

a CAN YOU APPEAL A DETERMINATION?

Y es. Either the employer or the claimant may file an
appeal if either paty disagrees with the
determination. This appeal must be in writing and
postmarked or received within the time indicated on
the determination. If no appead is filed within the
time period indicated on the determination, the
determination becomes final, and benefit payments
will be made or denied based on the determination.

When an appeal is received from either the claimant
or the employer, the Appea Tribuna schedules a
hearing and notifies all interested parties of the time
and the place of the hearing. Testimony given in
these hearings is under oath and is recorded. An
Administrative Hearing Officer considers the record
and renders the decision. Copies of the decision are
mailed to all interested parties. Further appeal from
this decision may be made to the Board of Review
within ten (10) days from the date of mailing the
decision.

WHAT HAPPENS WHEN AN APPEAL IS
FILED?

After the opinion of the Board of Review is issued,
further appeal may be made within thirty (30) days
to the district court having jurisdiction.

Dol HAVE TO STAY ON HOLD
FOREVER IF | CALL THE CALL
CENTER?

0

No, employers have a special customer service
number to call that gets answered promptly. If you
have any questions call (405) 552-6799.

CAN OESC HELP ME FIND GOOD
EMPLOYEE PROSPECTS?

Yes, we have a vast array of employer resources
through our Oklahoma Works centers, job fairs,
OKJobMatch.com and onsite recruiting events.
Check out these and many more resources by visiting
www.ok.gov/oesc and clicking on Employer
Resources. You can aso contact any of our
Oklahoma Works centers.




EMPI.OYER SERVICES

OKJobMatch.com is an easy way for employers to find qualified
candidates with the right skills. Employers are able to fill key
openings more rapidly, identify employee skill gaps relative to
the business's current needs, analyze past job opportunity
placements to determine where the most successful candidates
come from, and determine where qualified candidates are located
within the state all within one system, thereby reducing the
extraordinary costs of traditional recruitment. Some key features
available to assist employers are:

= Job Posting Creation: Employers can upload, improve, or create ajob posting. Employers can create a
posting by answering questions about typical work activities of similar jobs and enhance the
description by adding related keywords or copying text from current job listings.

w Application Management: Every resume received is analyzed in minute detail, evaluating a candidate’s
qualifications, skill gaps, and likely career path. This helps employers decide which candidates are
best aligned for the jobs they need to fill.

w Talent Search: Employers can search for relevant talent from the Oklahoma Talent Bank. The system
provides automated pattern-based matching, the ability to find more resumes like a selected one, and a
robust set of structured search capabilities.

Be sure to check out the many resources available to all of our valued employers by visiting
www.ok.gov/oesc or alocal Oklahoma Works center near you.

@ Job and Career Fair Events ® Onsite Recruitment Events and Interviewing

= Consulting, Job Listing, Job Description Space
Writing and Job Matching New Hire Reporting

® Labor Market Information and Statistics Federal Bonding and Work Opportunity Tax

» Employer Resources Videos - including Credit (WOTC) (Tax Credit for Employers)
videos on topics such as Oklahoma Employment Labor Law Posters
Unemployment Tax Filing (EZ Tax Express),
Unemployment Insurance and Appeals,

Separation Information, and Misclassified
Workers

Oklahoma Employer Councils/Business
Seminars




EMPILOYER SERVICES

Whether you are looking for workers with just the right skills, needing access to tools to help your
employees, or seeking the latest state or local demographics we can help!

Hiring Needs

= Job Order Posting
Employee Referrals
Job Description Devel opment

Specialized Recruitment

Customized Recruitment Events
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® Applicant Pre-Screening
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Job Matching

Tax Credit | nformation

= Work Opportunity Tax Credit Employee Skill Uparading

@ Hiring From Target Groups

. s Skill and Proficiency Testing
w Federa Bonding

o Carear Readiness Certificates

Employer Resources w Industry Specific Training

Employer Resources Videos
Unemployment Informational Videos
Oklahoma Unemployment Tax Filing Video

Employment Labor Law Posters _
Oklahoma’'s Economic Health
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Tax Information for Busi ness/Self
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Employed

Mass Layoff Services
Job Fairs

Employer Council Events

OKJobM atch.com Resume and Job Bank

Employment and Wage Data
Labor Force Rates
Unemployment Rates
Economic Indicators

Population Estimates




HIRE A VETERAN

Hiring veterans is good for your company's bottom line. Don’'t know where to begin? Check out
“America’s Heroes at Work - Veterans Hiring Toolkit” at http://www.dol.gov/vets/ahaw/ for the step-by-
step guide to hiring what will be some of your best employees - VETERANS!

Top Ten Reasonsto Hire Veterans

. Ability to learn new sKkills and concepts. While in the military, service members undergo rigorous
training programs to become experts in awide range of skills and concepts that can easily be transferred
to a civilian work environment. The skills service members have learned and applied in real-world
situations in the military make them ideal candidates to enhance your organization’s productivity.

. Strong leadership qualities. The military trains service members to lead by example as well as
through direction, delegation, motivation, and inspiration in some of the toughest situations imaginable.
Service members are not only well-schooled in the academic theory of leadership; they also understand
and have used practical ways to manage behaviors for results.

. Flexibility to work strongly in teams or work independently. Military training teaches service
members to work as a team by instilling a sense of responsibility to one's colleagues. In addition, the
size and scope of military operations necessitates that service members understand how groups of all
sizes relate to each other and support the overarching objective. While military duties stress teamwork
and group productivity, they also build individuals who are able to perform independently at avery high
level.

. Divergity and strong interpersonal skills. Service members have learned to work side by side with
individuals regardless of race, gender, religion, ethnic and cultural backgrounds, economic status, and
geographic origins as well as mental, physical and attitudinal capabilities. Many service members have
also been deployed or stationed in numerous foreign countries which give them a greater appreciation
for the diverse nature of our globalized economy.

. Ability to work efficiently and diligently in a fast-paced environment. Service members have
devel oped the capacity and time-management skills needed to know how to accomplish tasks correctly
and on time, in spite of limited resources and immense pressure.

. Respect for procedures and accountability. Service members know how policies and procedures
enable an organization to be successful, and they easily understand their place within an organizational
framework. Service members understand the responsibility that comes with being responsible for the
actions of subordinates, and they understand how to properly elevate issues through the proper
supervisory channels.

. Hands on experience with technology and globalization. Today's military uses the cutting-edge
technology to maintain our dominance over the enemy in the battlefield. From communications
technology to the security of computer networks and hardware, service members must stay aware of
emerging technologiesin the public and private sector.




HIRE A VETERAN

8. Strong personal integrity. Military training demands that individuals not only abide by a strong
Code of Ethics, but that they live it each and every day. Military personnel are often trusted with
security clearances that give them access to highly sensitive information. An employee with a proven
track record of trustworthiness is often an asset to an organization.

. Strong sense of health, safety and property standards. Service members are aware of health and
safety protocols both for themselves and the welfare of others. Individually, they represent a drug-free
workforce that is cognizant of maintaining personal heath and fitness. On a company level, their
attentiveness and care trandlate into respect for employees, property and materials.

. Triumph over adversity. In addition to dealing positively with the typical issues of personal
maturity, service members have frequently triumphed over great adversity. Service members have
proven their mettle in mission critical situations demanding endurance, stamina and flexibility. In the
case of wounded warriors, they have overcome severe disabilities, acquired injuries (including
invisible injuries) through strength, determination and personal conviction.




UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

What is Unemployment Benefit
Compensation?

Under the Employment Security Act of 1980,
payments may be made under certain conditions to
unemployed individuals from an unemployment
compensation fund subsidized by employers subject
to the Act.

These payments are known as unemployment benefit
compensation.

What is Unemployment | nsur ance?

Unemployment Insurance is a temporary income
intended to help workers who are unemployed
through no fault of their own. It is an insurance
fully funded by employers.

The intent of Unemployment Insurance is to pay
benefits to eligible clamants during times of
unemployment when suitable work is not available.

The unemployment payment, while it provides
necessities for the unemployed worker, aso
provides a consistent flow of funds into the
economy which supports the demand for consumer
goods and services and improves the worker's
probability of being reemployed. Relief sustains the
economy asit shiftsto recovery.

Benefits are Payableto | ndividuals Who

Are:
= Unemployed through no fault of their own

= Able and available to look for and accept
employment

» Monetarily eligible (Unemployed
individuals must monetarily qualify for
benefits) The  minimum  monetary
qualifications are that the claimant earn at
least $1500 in taxable wages and have total
wages that equal or are in excess of one and
one-half times his high quarter wages.
However, if the individua earns wages
equal to or greater than the taxable limit for
the year in which the claim is filed, he will
be monetarily eligible.

IsTherea Federal Unemployment

| nsurance L aw?

Federal legidlation authorizing and governing state
unemployment programs is found in both the
Social  Security Act and the Federa
Unemployment Tax Act.

The Social Security Act establishes:

= Funding for state unemployed insurance
program administration

State law requirements

Federal unemployment compensation
accounts

The Federal Unemployment Tax Act establishes:
= Federal unemployment tax rates
w Credits against the tax
w State law approval provisions

o Definitions




UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

What isthe Unemployment | nsurance
Act?

The purpose of the Employment Security Act of
1980, is to promote employment security by
increasing opportunities for placement through the
maintenance of a system of public employment
offices and to provide through the accumulation of
reserves for the payment of compensation to
individual s with respect to their unemployment.

40 O.S. 81-102.

What are the Unemployment | nsurance
Rules?

The administrative rules governing the Oklahoma
unemployment insurance program are found in the
Rules for the Administration of the Oklahoma
Employment Security Act, 40 O.S. 8240:1-1-1
through §240:25-3-1.

The Rules for the Administration of the
Unemployment Insurance Act are written
statements providing the administrative guidelines
for OESC to follow in delivering unemployment
insurance services. These administrative rules are
written under the authority of state and federal law

w Keep dl account information up to date. OESC
sends notices to the addresses liged on an
employer’s Oklahoma account.  If the address
information is not updated, and the notice goes to an
incorrect address, the notice will not be re-mailed,
and the employer will lose ther right to be an
interested party to any subsequent determinations.
Quedtions  regading  employer  account
information can be directed to (405) 557-5330.
Please note that all address changes must be
submitted in writing or may be entered online
through EZ Tax Express.

https: //eztaxexpr ess.oesc.state.ok.us

Have written policies and procedures. A damant
canot be denied for faling to follow policy or
procedure if they do not know what that policy or
procedureis or should have ressonably known.

Protest dl dams where the separation was due to a
reason other than lack of work. Also protest a
cdam any time the clamant is given severance
pay in accordance with company policy. There is
no guarantee that a timey response will result in
disqudification. However, snce the employer
must prove misconduct in a discharge case, faling
to protest or provide information could easlly result
inthe alowance of benefits.

and have the effect of law. If there is no employer information, then misconduct will

only be proven if the claimant gives sdlf-disqualifying
How to Keep the Cost of information.

Unemployment | nsurance Down?

There are a number of drategies that employers can
use to minimize costs associated with unemployment
insurance:

= Document everything. If a new policy is
created, have dl employees sign a recapt
acknowledging they have been advised of the
policy. If averbd wamning isgivento an employes,
document thet the waning was given. If the
employee is given one find chance &fter an
incident takes place, document the fact that if it
occurs again the employee will be discharged.

® Pay employer taxes on time. If taxes are not
paid on time, the employer will only recaive 90
percent of the Federa Unemployment Tax Act
(FUTA) credit.




GENERAL PROVISIONS AND DEFINITIONS

Who is Required to Pay Unemployment
Tax?

40 O.S. 81-208 requires an employer to report and
pay the unemployment insurance tax if that
employer meets any one of the following criteria

t-9)

An employing unit that pays $1,500 in
wagesin a calendar quarter

or

Employs one or more employees for any
portion of a week for any 20 weeks in a
calendar year

An employing unit that acquires substantially
all the organization, trade, business, assets, or
employees of a subject employer, or an
employing unit that acquires a portion of the
organization, trade, business, assets, or
employees of a subject employer.

An employing unit that has previously ceased
to be an employer but subsequently has
employment (except those that cease under
Termination of Coverage Provisions).

An employing unit that voluntary elects to
become subject.

Any department of Oklahoma or any state, all
instrumentalities and any political
subdivision.

An employing unit that is a non-profit
organization as described in 40 O.S. §1-210
(4) or that has a 501(c)(3) exemption issued
by the Internal Revenue Service, provided
they employ four or more employees for some
portion of a week during any 20 weeks in a
calendar year.

12

® An employing unit engaged in agricultural
employment that pays $20,000 in wages in a
caendar quarter or employs 10 or more
employees for any portion of a week for any
20 weeksin a calendar year.

An employing unit that pays $1,000 in wages
in acaendar quarter for domestic services.

An employing unit who is not an employer
by reason of any other provison of the
Employment Security Act of 1980. They
would be a subject employer and required to
report and pay tax on all Oklahoma wages if
they were subject to the FUTA.

The term “employer” shall include any Indian tribe
for which service in employment is performed.

What isan Employing Unit?

40 O.S. 81-209 defines “employing unit” to mean
any individual or type of organization, including any
partnership, association, trust, estate, joint stock
company, insurance company, limited liability
company or corporation, whether domestic or
foreign, or the receiver, trustee in bankruptcy,
trustee or successor thereof, or the legd
representative of a deceased person, which hasin its
employ one or more individuals performing services
for it within this state.

Unless specifically exempted in 40 O.S. §1-210, all
individuals performing services for an employing
unit are considered employees of that employing
unit and should be reported as such on the State
Unemployment Tax Act (SUTA) reports each
guarter. The wage information and tax collected for
SUTA is used to calculate and pay unemployment
benefits to individuals who qualify.




GENERAL PROVISIONS AND DEFINITIONS

What is Employment?

“Employment” means work done for an employer by
individuals whom the employer pays, whether
permanently or temporarily employed, unless the
work is specificaly exempt from coverage by the
provisions of 40 O.S. §1-210.

Employment encompasses services performed by
officers of corporations, including S corporations.

What Types of Employment are Exempt
From Unemployment Taxes?

Payments made for services that are exempt should
not be included on the quarterly wage report. The
following services are some examples of what does
not constitute employment and is exempt from
unemployment insurance taxes.

o Services of an ordained minister in the exercise
of his’her ministry

Services performed by the spouse of an
individual owner (sole proprietor)

Services performed by an individual owner as a
sole proprietor

Services of a minor child (under 21) in the
employ of the parents

Services of parents in the employ of their sons
or daughters

Service peformed by the partners in a
partnership

Services performed by an insurance agent or as a
licensed real estate agent, if all service is performed
for remuneration solely by commissions or fees

® Services performed for a private for-profit
person or entity or entity by an individua
as a landman (See 40 O.S. 81-210(15)(x)
for additional information.)

40 O.S. §1-210(7) and §1-210(15)

What is a Successor Employer ?

A “successor employer” is an employing unit that
has acquired substantially al of the trade,
employees, organization, business or assets of the
predecessor employer and continued the operation.
The successor employer aso acquires the
predecessor’s unemployment insurance tax rate and
history, including their actual contribution, benefit
experience and annual payrolls. The successor is
jointly and severally liable with the predecessor for
all contributions, interest, penalties and fees owed by
the predecessor employer.

A partial successor employer is an employing unit
that has acquired substantidly all of the trade,
employees, organization, business, or assets of an
employer a one or more separate and distinct
establishments and continued the operation. To
acquire the portion of the experience rating account
that was purchased, the successor must send a
written application and the portion of history to be
transferred within 120 days of the acquisition.

If an employer transfers all or a portion of its
business to another employer and, at the time of
transfer, there is substantially common ownership,
management or control of the two employers, the
histories of the employers will be combined.




GENERAL PROVISIONS AND DEFINITIONS

What is | nterstate Employment?

Wages are reported to the OESC if:

@ The service is locdized in Oklahoma
Service is considered to be Oklahoma
employment if it is performed entirely within
Oklahoma. The service is adso considered
Oklahoma employment if performed both
inside and outside of Oklahoma, but the
service outside of Oklahoma is incidental to
the service in Oklahoma.

The service is not localized in any state. If
the service is not localized in any state but
some of the service is peformed in
Oklahoma, and

¢ Theindividua’s “base of operations’ isin
Oklahoma, or if there is no base of
operations, then the place from which the
individual’s employment is directed or
controlled isin Oklahoma, or

The individual’s base of operations or
place from which the service is directed or
controlled is not in any state where service
is performed, but the individua’s
residence isin Oklahoma.

What isa L essor Employer?

“Lessor employers’ are employing units that
contract with other employers, individuas,
organizations or legal entities to provide “leased”
employees. The lessor employer is liable for
contributions on wages pad to individuals
performing services for the client lessees. The
lessee will be held jointly and severally liable with
the lessor employing unit unless the lessor
employer posts and maintains a surety bond.

What is a Professional Employer
Organization?

40 O.S. 81-209.2
Organization, states:

Professiona  Employer

A. 1. A* Professional Employer Organization” or
(PEO) is an organization that is subject to the
Oklahoma Professional Employer Organization
Recognition and Registration Act and which
meets the definition set out in paragraph 9 of
Section 600.2 of Title 40 of the Oklahoma
Satutes.

2. Client” shall have the same meaning as
provided by paragraph 1 of Section 600.2 of Title
40 of the Oklahoma Satutes.

3.“ Coemployer” shall have the same meaning as
provided by paragraph 2 of Section 600.2 of
Title 40 of the Oklahoma Satutes.

4." Coemployment relationship” shall have the
same meaning as provided by paragraph 3 of
Section 600.2 of Title 40 of the Oklahoma
Satutes.

5.“Covered employee” shall have the same
meaning as provided by paragraph 5 of Section
600.2 of Title 40 of the Oklahoma Satutes.

B. For purposes of the Employment Security Act
of 1980, the PEO and its client shall be
considered coemployers of the covered
employees that are under the direction and
control of the client.

C. If a PEO fails to become or remain registered
under the Oklahoma Professional Employer
Organization Recognition and Registration Act,
the entity shall be considered a third-party
administrator of the client account. As a third-
party administrator, a power of attorney will be
required to obtain information from the client’s
account.




GENERAL PROVISIONS AND DEFINITIONS

What IsWorker Misclassification?

Misclassifying workers as independent contractors,
who are in fact employees, creates significant
problems for the affected employees, competing
employers, and to the entire economy. Combatting
this practice has become a policy priority nationally.
OESC is a partner agency with the Internal Revenue
Service (IRS) in the Questionable Employment Tax
Practices Initiative that the IRS started. As such, we
share information.

Employment versus independent contractor status is
defined in 40 O.S. 81-210 (14). Oklahoma uses a
version of the ABC Test for worker
misclassification. We have no equivalent to Section
530 Safe Harbor, or the Voluntary Classification
Settlement Program provisions which the IRS
employs.

According to the ABC Test given in the Act, any
individual providing services for hire is an
employee until it is shown to the satisfaction of the
Commission that:

The individua is free from direction and
control*over his performance of service, and meets
one of the following:

® The individual has his own independently
established business, or

= The individual is performing services outside
the usual course of the business and outside
all places of business.

Individuals not meeting this criteria are considered
employees and should be reported by the employing
unit.

Should you have workers that you classify as
independent  contractors or that you are
contemplating classifying as such, please contact
OESC for a determination in order to avoid possible
assessments, penalties, and interest at alater time.

What are Employer Audits?

The U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and
Training  Administration, sets  mandatory
performance goals to ensure states are correctly
and efficiently administering the Unemployment
Insurance program. One of the required measures
is the employer audit program. Each state is
required to audit selected employers for
compliance with the Employment Security Act of
1980.

Employers are required by the Act to maintain
work records for a period of four years. These
records are to be open to inspection and subject to
being copied by OESC. These provisions are
found in 40 O.S. 84-502.

Records that are needed to complete an audit,
according to U.S. Department of Labor guidelines,
include:

Federa and/or state income tax returns

Franchise tax return (if employer is
incorporated)

Business licenses
Federal and state payroll reports
W-2 and W-3 forms

Individual earnings records, payroll register,
and time cards

Disbursement records (cancelled checks,
check stubs, cash disbursements journas,
check registers, ACH transactions)

1099 and 1096 forms

Master vendor files

Y Thisis explained in OESC Rules, §240:10-1-2. Definitions.




GENERAL PROVISIONS AND DEFINITIONS

What are Employer Audits? Continued

Contracts with individuals being treated as contractors as well as invoices, billing statements
or other records from same

Petty cash journal

Detailed genera ledger

Chart of accounts and/or trial balance
Financial statements

Corporate or LLC minutes

Financial statements
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Any other work records that may be required

NOTE: If an employer is selected for audit, they will be notified by the
Compliance Enforcement Officer and advised of the time and date of the
audit.

Wage information and other confidential Unemployment Compensation information may be requested and utilized for other
governmental purposes, including, but not limited to, verification of an individual’s eligibility for other government programs.




W AGES

What are Wages?

“Wages' are defined in 40 O.S. §1-218. They
include al remuneration for services whether in
cash or any other medium. Dismissa payments
that the employer is required by law or contract to
make are wages, as are grauities that are
cusomarily receved in the course of an
employee’'s work. The reasonable cash vaue of
items other than cash will be estimated in
accordance with the OESC Rules, §240:10-1-2.

Total wages are equal to gross wages less any
exemptions listed below.

Retirement plans other than deferrals under
certain sections of federa law

Sickness or accident disability plans
Medical and hospitalization insurance plans
Lifeinsurance plans

Bonafide thrift or savings plan
Cdfeteria plans as defined in federa law

Educational assistance excludable from
federal incometax (26 U.S.C. 8125)

Dependent care assistance programs
excludable from federal income tax (26
U.S.C. §129)

Payment by an employer for agricultural or
domestic service of the employee's share
of FICA without deduction from the
employee's pay

Dismissal payments which the employer is
not required by law or contract to make

= Vaue of meds or lodging furnished by the
employees, that are provided on the
employer's premises for the employer's
convenience

Payment made wunder an  approved
supplemental unemployment benefit plan

What are Wages Paid?

“Wages paid” means wages actually paid to the
worker, provided that in the event of any distribution
of an employer's assets through insolvency,
receivership, composition, assignment for the benefit
of creditors or termination of business, wages earned
but not actually paid shall be considered as paid.

Wages must be reported for the calendar quarter in
which they are paid.

What are Taxable Wages?

“Taxable wages’ means the wages pad to an
individual with respect to employment during a
calendar year for services covered by the Act or
other state unemployment compensation which
shall equal the applicable percentage of the state's
average annual wage for the second preceding
calendar year as determined by the OESC, rounded
to the nearest multiple of $100. The applicable
percentage is determined by the conditional factor in
place during the calendar year for which the taxable
wage is being calculated. The conditional factor is
determined pursuant to the provisions of 40 O.S. §3-
113. The applicable percentages are asfollows:

@ 40 percent during any caendar year in which
the balance in the Unemployment Insurance
trust fund is in excess of the amount required to
initiate conditional contribution rates, pursuant
to the provisions of 40 O.S. §3-113
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What are Taxable Wages? Continued What arethe Filing Deadlines?
. . _ An employer may file any quarterly report for the
42.5_p_ercent dur_l ng calendar years in which o rrent quarter or any past due quarter. The due
condition“a" exists dates for OES-3 submission are as follows:

45 percent during calendar years in which
condition “b” exists

475 percent during calendar years in which Quarter  Months Due Date
condition“c” exists First Jan, Feb, March ~ April 30
50 percent during calendar years in which Second  April, May, June  July 31
condition “d” exists Third July, Aug, Sept Oct 31
Fourth Oct, Nov, Dec Jan 31

How Does an Employer Calculate the
Yearly Taxable Limitation Using Taxable

Wages?

Once an employer has determined their total wages as
defined by 40 O.S. 81-218, the employer can
determine how much of its totd wages are taxable up to
the Taxable Limitation for each employee. This amount

is computed per employee per year.

The following scenarios are for example purposes
only. The 2019 taxable limitation was $18,100.

Scenaio 1 Totd wages Taxablewages
Hrs quarter 2019 $19,000.00 $18,100.00

Second quarter 2019 $19,000.00 $0.00
Third quarter 2019 $6,000.00 $0.00
Fourth quarter 2019 $16,000.00 $0.00
2019total $60,000.00 $18,100.00

Scenario 2 Totd wages
Firg quarter 2019 $6,000.00 $6,000.00
Second quarter 2019 $6,200.00 $6,200.00
Third quarter 2019 $3,350.48 $6,900.00
Fourth quarter 2019 $5,500.00 $0.00
2019total $25,05048

Scenaio 3 Totd wages
Hrg quarter 2019
Second quarter 2019 $3,200.00
Third quarter 2019 $2,500.00
Fourth quarter 2019 $5,500.00
2019total $1348.00
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What Do We M ean By “File?’

When any document is required to be filed by the provisions of the Act or the Rules promulgated under the
authority of the Act with the OESC, any of its representatives, or the Board of Review for the Commission,
the term file, files, or filed shall be defined asfollows:

Hand-ddivered to the centrd adminigtrative office of the OESC by close of business on or before
the date due

Faxed to the fax number indicated on the determination letter, order or other document issued by
OESC, by midnight on or before the date due. Timely faxing shall be determined by the date and
time recorded by the OESC fax equipment

Mailed with sufficient postage and properly addressed to the address indicated on the
determination letter, order or other document issued by OESC on or before the date due. Timely
mailing shall be determined by the postmark. If there is no proof from the post office of the date
of mailing, the date of receipt by the Commission shall constitute the date of filing

Electronically transmitted through data lines to OESC, as directed by the instructions on the
determination letter, order or other document issued by the Commission, by midnight on or
before the date due. Timely transmission shall be determined by the Commission’ s transmission
log file
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What Constitutes a Successor Employer ?

What is an Experience Rating?

“Experience rating” is the system by which tax rates
vary in relation to an employer’s experience with
unemployment. Experience rating has three maor
objectives:

Serve as an incentive to stabilize employment

Produce proper alocation of the cost of
unemployment benefits

Encourage employer participation in the
program

When am | Eligiblefor an Earned
Experience Contribution Rate?

Unless you are subject to 40 O.S. 83-111 or 3-111.1,
beginning with the 2016 rate year, an employer shall
meet the At-Risk Rule, as defined by Section 3-
110.1, and be €eligible for an earned tax rate if,
throughout the calendar year immediately preceding
the year for which the employer's tax rate is being
determined, there was an individual who could have
filed a clam for unemployment benefits in each
quarter of that year establishing a base period, as
defined by Section 1-202 of this title, which would
include wages from that employer.

When am | Eligiblefor a New
Contribution Rate?

Unless you are subject to 40 O.S. 8§3-111 or 3-111.1,
newly subject employers will be eligible for a new
contribution rate; for the 2019 rate year, the new
employer rateis 1.5%.

The new employer rateis applied to al newly subject
employers until sufficient experience history existsin
the employer account to meet the At-Risk Rule, as
defined by Section 3-110.1. If the account meets the
At-Risk Rule, the employer will qualify for an earned
experience contribution rate.

Pursuant to 40 O.S. §83-111, any employing unit
which acquires substantially al of the trade,
organization, employees, business, or assets of an
employer and who continues the operations as a
going business on or before 10-31-16 shal be
determined to be a successor employer. The
successor employer shall acquire the experience
rating account of the predecessor employer,
including the predecessor’s actual contribution and
benefit  experience, annua payrolls, and
contribution rate.

Pursuant to 40 O.S. 83-111.1, if an employer
transfers al or a portion of its business to another
employer and, at the time of transfer, there is
substantially common ownership, management or
control of the two employers, the histories of the
employers will be combined.

What is an Experience Period?

According to 40 O.S. 81-227, experience period
means.

® For any tax year occurring after December 31,
2006, the most recent twelve (12) consecutive
completed calendar quarters occurring before
July 1 of the year immediately preceding the
year for which the employer’s contribution
rate is being calculated

An employer’s benefit wage ratio is the percentage
equal to the total of benefit wage charges in the
experience period divided by the timely taxable
payroll used to compute eligibility of claimants
during the same three-year experience period
immediately prior to July 1 of the year for which the
rates are being computed (a period less than three
years for newly subject employers).
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How ismy Earned Contribution Rate
Computed?

Rates are computed for al eligible employers
effective January 1 of each calendar year. The
factors in the computation of an employer's
contribution rate are:

@ Anemployer’s benefit wage ratio
w State experience factor

= Conditional factor (if applicable)

When am | Notified of our Tax Rates?

All employers are notified of their contribution rate
on or before September 30 of the year prior to the
effective rate year with Form OES-48, Notice of
Employer’s Contribution Rate. This rate is
conclusive and binding upon the employer unless
the employer files a written protest within 20 days
of the date that the OES-48, Notice of Employer’s
Contribution Rate was mailed, including the
specific reasons for the protest. OESC will provide
areview and issue a determination. The employer
may appea the determination within 14 days of its
postmark.

What isthe Benefit Wage Ratio?

An employer’s benefit wage ratio is the percentage
equal to the total benefit wage charges in the
experience period divided by the employer’s timely
taxable wages for the same experience period on
which contributions have been paid on or before
July 31 of the calendar year immediately preceding
the year for which the rate is being cal cul ated.

The following is an illustration of an employer’s
benefit wage ratio computation.

Experience
Rate Period

Benefit Wage Timely Taxable
Charges WERES

2016-2017 $10,000.00 $80,000.00

2017-2018 $6,000.00 $100,000.00

2018-2019 $7,000.00 $115,000.00

$23,000.00 $295,000.00

Employer’s benefit wage ratio = $23,000.00 divided
by $295,000.00 = 0.07797 = 7.8%

The state experience factor is 48%.

The benefit wage ratio and state experience factor
are then applied to the Rate Table to determine the
contribution rate:

https://www.ok.gov/oesc web/documents/rates.pdf

Therefore, the employer's contribution rate is
3.7%.
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What isthe State Experience Factor ?

The state experience factor is calculated by
dividing total benefits pad from the
Unemployment Insurance trust fund for the most
recent 12 quarters by the total benefit wages of al
employers for the same 12-quarter period. The
following illustration shows how the state
experience factor was determined for 2019.

Benefits paid divided by $ 848,616,617.62

Benefit Wage Charges $1,786,317,505.78

State Experience Factor for 2015
rounded to nearest whole percent

What isthe Conditional Factor?

Based on the solvency of the Unemployment
Insurance Trust Fund, the conditional factor is
computed annually in accordance with 40 O.S.
§3-113.

The method for determining an employer’s earned
experience rate involves comparing the employer's
own benefit wage ratio to the state experience
factor by the use of atable provided by law.

https://www.ok.gov/oesc web/documents/rates.pdf
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What Are Benefit Wage Char ges?

“Benefit wage charges’ are the claimant’s taxable
base period wages reported by the employer to the
OESC for use in determining the clamant’s
eligibility to receive benefits. Benefit wage charges
to an employer’s account are used in computing the
employer’s contribution rate.

There may be instances where benefits are alowed,
but the employer may be relieved of a benefit wage
charge. More information on this can be found in 40
O.S. §83-105 and §3-106.

How am | Notified of Benefit Wage
Charges?

If aclaimant is alowed benefits based on the reason
for separation at the time an initia clam was filed,
and a valid benefit year has been established, an
OES-502, Notice of Benefit Wages, is mailed to al
base period employers showing the amount of base
period wages being charged to them when benefits
are pad to a clamant for the fifth week of
unemployment in the benefit year. A copy of this
notice should be retained for an employer's
permanent record, as no additional transcript will be
furnished. An employer must protest the benefit
wage charge in order to be relieved of the charge.

How Do | Protest a Benefit Wage
Charge?

The protest must be written and contain both the
basis for the protest and the circumstances of the
clamant’s last separation from the employer. The
protest must be filed within 20 days of the date of
issue on the Notice of Benefit Wages. Failure to
respond timely, without providing details
demonstrating good cause for late filing, will result
in no relief of the benefit wage charge.

23

Am | Notified of Action Taken on a
Protested Benefit Wage Char ge?

The employer is notified with a Notice of
Cancdllation of Benefit Wages if it is determined
that the base period charge has been cancelled and
will not be used in computing the employer’s tax
rate. However, if it is determined that the base
period wage charge will be used, the employer will
receive an OES-503, Notice of Determination to
Base Period Employer. The employer can apped
this determination. The appeal must be in writing
and filed within 14 days after the OES-503, Notice
of Determination to Base Period Employer was
mailed.
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What Arethe Groundsfor Protesting a Benefit Wage Char ge?

An employer can protest a benefit wage charge when the daimant’s sgparation from the employer was under the
following drcumstances

Theemployeeleft thework voluntarily without good cause connected to the work.
Theemployee was discharged for misconduct connected with hisor her work.

The employee was a regulaly scheduled employee of tha employer prior to the week the employee
separated from other employment, and remained an employee of the employer through the fifth
compensableweek of unemployment in hisor her established benefit year.

Theemployeewas separated from employment asadirect result of amgor naturd disaster, declared as such
by the President pursuant to the Disaster Relief Act of 1974, P.L. 93-288, and such employee would
have been entitled to disaster unemployment assistance if employee had not received unemployment
insurance benefits.

The employee was discharged for unsatisfactory performance during an initial employment probationary
period. As used in this paragraph, “probationary period” means a period of time set forth in an
established probationary plan which appliesto al employees or aspecific group of employees and does
not exceed ninety (90) cdendar days from the first day a new employee begins work. The employee
must be informed of the probationary period within the first seven (7) work days. There must be
conclusve evidence to establish that the individud was separated due to unsatisfactory work
performance.

The employee left employment to atend training goproved under the Trade Act of 1974 and is alowed
unemployment benefits pursuant to 40 O.S. §2-416.

The employee was sgparated from employment for compeling family drcumstancesasdefined in 40 O.S.
§2-210.

The dlamant was separated because of illness or disability which required cessation of work or change
in occupation.

The clamant was separated because of illness or disability of immediate family member.

The clamant was separated because their spouse obtained employment in a location outsde of
commuting distance.

The clamant left ajob as part of aplan to escgpe domestic violence or abuse.
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What Are The Options For Reimbursing
and Governmental Employers?

Non-profit organizations, as defined by 40 O.S.
§1-210(4), and governmental employers may elect to
make reimbursing payments in lieu of contributions.
Rather than paying contributions based on a tax rate
derived from their experience history, reimbursing
employers make payments based on the full amount
of benefits paid to former employees for wages
which are attributable to their employ.

Reimbursing employers are required to reimburse for
benefits paid regardless of the reason for separation.

Governmental employers who choose not to elect to
make reimbursing payments shall make quarterly
payments based on a fixed 1% of taxable wages.

Reimbursing and governmental (1%) employers will
receive an OES-866, Notice to Reimbursing and
Governmental Employers a the time an
unemployment claim is filed. This notice only
provides the taxable wages earned from the employer
that were used in determining the claimant’s benefit
amount. It does not alow the employer the ability to
protest the claimant’s eligibility for benefits based
upon the separation from their employ. If a
reimbursing or governmental employer is the last
employer of 15 days or more, they will also receive
the OES-617, Notice of Application for
Unemployment Compensation. This notice does
allow the employer to protest the eligibility of the
claimant to receive benefits.

Following the end of the quarter, reimbursing
employers will receive the OES-876, Quarterly
Statement for Reimbur sement of Benefits Paid.

This statement will detail the amounts of benefits
paid to claimants for which the employer is required
to make reimbursing payments to the Commission.

What Are The Options For Tribal
Employers?

An Indian tribe or tribal unit may choose to pay
contributions in the same manner as
nongovernmental employees for profit. However, an
Indian tribe or tribal unit may also elect to make
reimbursing payments in lieu of contributions.
Indian tribes shall determine whether reimbursement
of benefits paid shall be elected by the tribe as a
whole, by individua tribal units, or by combinations
of tribal units.
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How Do You Qualify for Unemployment
Benefits?

In order to be eligible for unemployment benefits,
aclaimant must be all of the following:

® Separated from work or working less than
full time

Registered and diligently seeking work
during each week in which he/she applies
for benefits

= Ableto work and available to perform work
duties in keeping with education, training
and experience

A clamant's sef-employment cannot interfere
with their availability for employment or the type
of work they are seeking. In addition, al self-
employment wages must be reported. The
clamant cannot be working on a commission or
receiving or seeking unemployment benefits from
another state or the United States.

What Arethe Maximum
Unemployment Benefit Amounts?

The unemployment benefit amount is determined
by the qualifying wages paid to a claimant during
the claimant's base period.

The benefit amounts are calculated each year. In
Oklahoma, weekly payments range from a
minimum of $16 to the current year's weekly
maximum of $520.00.

Computation of the maximum benefit amount
changes each year based on the conditional factor
associated with the state's Unemployment
Insurance Trust Fund.

The number of weeks a clamant can receive
unemployment benefits during his’her benefit year
islimited to a maximum of 26 weeks.

How Do | Protest Benefits?

When an employer receives a notice of application,
they will have 10 days from the postmark date of the
notice to protest the claim. If thetenth day fallson a
Saturday, Sunday or holiday, the employer will have
until the next working day. If an employer does not
protest by the tenth day, they will not be considered
an interested paty to any  subsequent
determinations.

When protesting claims, employers should provide
specific facts regarding the separation. Protests that
only say, “Discharged due to misconduct” fall short
of providing useful information. OESC needs to
know what caused the separation on that particular
day, whether the claimant had received any warnings,
and what the claimant should have done that could
have prevented the separation.

What isa Valid Claim?

A “vdid clam” is an unemployment insurance
clam filed in accordance with the rules of the
OESC by a clamant who has the necessary
qualifying wages.

What is a Benefit Year ?

A “benefit year” is a oneyear unemployment
insurance benefit eligibility period that begins on
Sunday of the week the first valid unemployment
insurance claim isfiled.

What is a Base Period?

The “base period” is the first four of the last five
completed calendar quarters immediately preceding
thefirst day of a claimant’s benefit year.
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How to Apply for Unemployment
Bene€fits:

When an individud files a new cam for
unemployment benefits, OESC notifies the last covered
employer of 15 or more working days. When a
clamant returns to work during their benefit year and
is separated from the new job, the claimant can reopen
their current clam. If the cdamant is separated from
employment for any reason other than lack of work, an
investigation will be conducted, and a determination will
be issued dlowing or denying unemployment benefitsin
accordance with state law. The employer will only be
an interested party to the determination if a timely,
response is received in accordance with 40 O.S.
§2-503. Employers who are not interested parties
will not receive a copy of the determination and will
not have appea rights to any subsequent
determinations.

What isAble and Available?

The clamant must be able and available for work
each week. Any individual who is able or available
for work the majority of the week (three out of the
five normal workdays) is considered able and
available.

Can a Claimant Who Quits Collect
Unemployment Benefits?

A clamant who voluntarily leaves their last job
without good cause connected to the work is subject
to disgudification from benefits. The burden of
proof for good cause connected to the work in a
voluntary quit is on the claimant.

For a clamant to establish benefits after a
disqualification, they must be reemployed and earn
wages equal to or in excess of ten (10) times their
weekly benefit amount. However, there exists
certain circumstances that are not work related that
will result in allowance of benefits.

Can a Claimant Who isFired for
Misconduct Collect Unemployment
Benefits?

A clamant discharged from their last work for
misconduct connected to the work is subject to
disqualification for benefits.

In cases of discharge for misconduct, the burden of
proof to establish misconduct is on the employer.
To lift the disqualification, the claimant must be
reemployed and earn wages equal to or in excess of
ten (10) times their weekly benefit amount.

What Are Other Separation | ssues?

An individua who ceases work due to a labor
dispute or strike against their employer is ineligible
for benefits if they participate in the dispute and
voluntarily remain out of employment for purposes
of the dispute. This applies to all circumstances
except where the employer has locked out the
employees. Labor dispute issues are sent to the
OESC Appeal Tribunal for decisions.
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Other |ssues Affecting Eliqgibility:

A clamant can aso be denied benefits or have
benefits reduced:

-]

-]

In cases involving fraud or misrepresentation

If the claimant is not able and/or available for
work in keeping with their prior work
experience, training and education

If the clamant is an dien not lawfully
permitted to work in the United States

Between two successive seasons, if benefits are
based on services performed as a professional
athlete, and services were performed in the
first season, and there is reasonable assurance
the claimant will perform services in the
second season

Between two academic years or terms, if
benefits are based on services performed as a
school employee, and there is reasonable
assurance that the claimant will perform such
services in the second academic year or term.
School employees are ineligible during
customary vacation periods or holiday recesses
if they have reasonable assurance of returning
to work

If the claimant is enrolled in scheduled school
activities and is not willing to quit school,
adjust their schedule or change shifts to secure
employment

Dismissal and/or severance payments required
by law or contract

Unemployment benefits under an
unemployment compensation law of another
state or the United States

Pension or retirement pay based on previous
work, if such payment is under a plan
maintained or contributed to by a base period
employer

= Wages from part time employment

w Vacation and/or sick leave payments in a
circumstance when required to return to work
on a specific date or at the end of a specific
vacation

What About Employees Working for
Temporary Agencies?

For the purposes of this section, the following
definitions apply.

“Temporary help firm” means afirm that
hires its own employees and assigns
them to clients to support or supplement
the client's work force in work situations
such as employee absences, temporary
skill shortages, seasonal workloads, and
specia assignments and projects.

“Temporary employeg’” means an
employee assigned to work for the clients
of atemporary help firm.

A temporary employee of atemporary help firm will
be deemed to have left his or her last work
voluntarily without good cause connected with the
work if the temporary employee:

® Does not contact the temporary help firm for
reassignment on completion of an assignment.
The temporary help firm shdl establish the
manner for a temporary employee to
communicate that his or her assgnment has
ended and that he or she is avalable for
reassignment at any time

Refuses a suitable job assignment, without good
cause

Communicates his or her decison to cease
seeking assignment for any period of time
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What About Employees Working for
Temporary Agencies? Continued

® Becomes unavailable to accept a suitable job
assignment, without good cause

® Accepts employment with a client of the
temporary help firm

Note: This provision shall apply only if the
temporary employee has been advised of the
obligations and has been provided a copy of a
Separate document written in clear and concise
language that states the provision of this section and
that unemployment benefits may be denied for
failure to comply.

For unemployment insurance purposes, the
temporary help firm is deemed to be the employer of
the temporary employee. This means that regardless
of the particular business requirement of the
temporary agency, if the clamant contacts the
temporary service upon the completion of an
assignment, and no work is available, the claimant
will be considered to be laid off due to lack of work.

In addition, the claimant must be made aware of the
requirement to check in upon the completion of an
assgnment. The objective of the claimant is aso
considered.

What About Employees Hired for
Limited Periods of Time?

= When an employer employs aworker for alimited
duration of time specified by the employer, the
worker is congdered to have been lad off due to
lack of work a the end of the time period set by
the employer, provided that the worker's
separation was due only to the completion of the
work or the expiration of thetime period

When an employer employs a worker for a limited
duration of time spedified by the worker, the worker
Is conddered to have voluntarily quit work at the
end of the time period set by the worker, provided
that the worker's separation was due only to the
expiration of thetime period

This means that if the employee sas the dates of
employment then, upon completion of the length of time
specified by the employee, the employeeis consdered to
have quit the job. If the employer sets the dates of
employment then, upon completion of thelength of time
specified by the employer, the employee is considered
to have been laid off dueto alack of work.

If the individua separates before the agreed upon last
day of employment, then OESC looks a why the
individud separated and makes a ruling upon the
reason for separation.
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What Do | Need to Know About Drug and
Alcohol Testing?

In order to establish that the drug or acohol test of an
unemployment insurance clamant was conducted in
accordance with the Standards for Workplace Drug
and Alcohol Testing Act, 40 O.S. 8551 through 8565,
the employer must produce the following
documentation:

= Documentation of a pogitive test result issued by
thetesting facility that performed the test

Documentation of the chain of custody of the
testing sample from the point of collection to
the testing facility

The medical review officer's certification of
proper testing standards and procedures

A statement concerning the circumstances, as
set out in 40 O.S. 8554, under which the testing
was requested or required

A copy of the employer's drug testing policy,
asrequired by 40 O.S. 8555

Documentation showing that the employer
provides an employee assistance program, as
required by 40 O.S. 8561

Any evidence relevant to the adjudication of
guestions of fact or law regarding drug or
alcohol testing that may be an issue in the
claim for unemployment benefits

The claimant must be tested for avalid reason. Vadid
reasons include but are not limited to:

w Testing of a new applicant
® Testing under reasonable suspicion

Post-accident testing

ko)
= Random testing
O

Scheduled periodic testing

If an employer does nat have an established drug testing
policy that conforms to the Standards for Workplace
Drug and Alcohol Testing Act and that employer
discharges someone for testing positive for drugs,
the discharged individual cannot be disqualified
from receiving unemployment insurance because of
the positive drug test.

What if They Were Fired for Refusing to
Undergo Drug and Alcohol Testing?

An employee discharged on the basis of arefusa to
undergo drug or acohol testing or a confirmed
positive drug or acohol test conducted in accordance
with the provisons of the Standards for Workplace
Drug and Alcohol Testing Act shdl be considered to
have been discharged for misconduct and shdl be
disqudified for benefits pursuant to provisons of 40
O.S. 82-406. In any clam brought by the discharged
employee for compensation, a copy of the drug or
alcohol test results shall be accepted as prima facie
evidence of the adminigtration and results of the drug
or alcohol test.

Who Has the Bur den of Proof?

When an individud is discharged, the burden of
proof lies with the employer to show the discharge
was for misconduct connected with the work.
When an individua quits, the burden of proof lies
with that individual to show good cause for
quitting.
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Can a Claimant Refuse Offers of Suitable
Work?

An individua is disqualified from receiving benefits
if he/she failsto:

= Diligently search for suitable employment at a
pay rate generally available in that area and
keeping with higher prior experience,
education and training

Apply for work with employers who could
reasonably be expected to have work available
within the claimant's general geographic area

Present himself/herself as an applicant in a
manner designed to encourage consideration for
employment

Accept an offer of work from an employer,
including any former employer

Apply for or accept an offer of work when so
directed by the OESC Workforce Services staff

Accept employment pursuant to a hiring hall
agreement when so offered

Any individual violation of the first three stipulations
is disqualified for the week in which the violation
occurred. An individual in violation of the last three
stipulations is disqualified for the week in which the
violation occurred, and disqualification will continue
until the individual becomes reemployed and has
earned wages equal to or in excess of 10 times hig/
her weekly benefit amount.

Any individua violating the last three requirements
due to illness, death of a family member or other
circumstances beyond his/her control will be
disqualified for regular benefits under this section
only for the week of the violation.

Further, any individual disqualified for the week of
the occurrence of such circumstances beyond his/her
control is not eligible for extended benefits for the
purposes of 40 O.S. §2-701 through §2-724 until
such individual has become re-employed and has
earned wages equa to at least 10 times his/her
weekly benefit amount.

Am | Notified of Claims Filed Against
Me?

In accordance with 40 O.S. 8§2-503, the last
employer for whom the claimant worked at least 15
working days is notified when the claimant begins
receiving unemployment benefits. An OES-617,
Notice of Application for Unemployment
Compensation is mailed to the separating
employer. One important factor to protect an
employer is for the employer to respond to all
notices in a timely manner with complete
information. Appeal rights are based on written
responses.

Can | Appeal a Deter mination?

The employer or the claimant may file an appeal if
either interested party disagrees with the
determination. The appeal must be in writing and
postmarked or faxed within 10 days from the date
the determination was mailed. If no appea is filed
within the 10-day period, the determination
becomes final, and benefit payments will be made
or denied based on the determination.




UNEMPILOYMENT BENEFITS

How to Protest an Unemployment Claim:

Many employers may not be aware of the
requirements of responding to notices of
unemployment claims. 40 O.S. 82-503(E) states:

E. Within ten (10) days after the date on the notice
or the date of the postmark on the envelope in
which the notice was sent, whichever is later, an
employer may file with the Commission at the
address prescribed in the notice written
objections to the claim setting forth specific facts
which

1. Make the claimant ineligible for benefits
under 40 O.S. §2-201 through §2-210;

. Disqualify the claimant from benefits under
40 O.S. §2-401 through 8§2-419; or

. Relieve such employer from being charged
for the benefits wages of such claimant.

If an employer protests with inadequate information,
they will recelve a decision in the mail stating that
their protest has been recelved, but there is
inadequate information surrounding the separation to
make the employer an interested party. As a result,
the employer will not receive a copy of the
separation determination and will not have appeal
rightsif they believe the claim isalowed in error.

After receiving an OES-617, Notice of Application
for Unemployment Compensation, an employer
can file a protest if any reason exists showing the
claimant should be denied benefits. A written reply
must be postmarked within 10 days of the date the
OES-617, Notice of  Application  for
Unemployment Compensation was mailed. If an
employer does not reply within 10 days, they may
be contacted for information on job separation and
other subjects.

IMPORTANT: Being contacted by OESC does
NOT mean an employer is considered an
interested party.

If the clamant voluntarily left work or was
discharged by the employer, the employer's protest
should include full and complete facts. In case of a
voluntary quit, the reason the individual gave for
leaving should be included as well as an
explanation as to why the employer does not think
the reason was justified. In case of a discharge for
misconduct, an employer should explain the nature
of the misconduct in detail.

What if | am L ate Responding to the
OES6177?

If an employer wishes to protest, but missed the 10
day response time, the employer should still write a
written response, following the details given in
“How to Protest an Unemployment Claim,” but aso
include a written justification for being late to
respond. The information will be treated as a
response only and not as a protest to the receipt of
benefits since no separation details were provided.
No appeal able determination will be issued.




UNEMPILOYMENT BENEFITS

What Reply Do | Recelvein Responseto a
Protest?

When an employer’s timely protest is received that
complies with 40 O.S. 8§2-503, the employer
becomes an interested party to the clam and will be
mailed a Notice of Determination in regard to the
claim. If the claimant does not have sufficient wages
within their base period to qualify for unemployment
compensation, the employer will be notified by
letter. If there have been no issues raised, or
clamant was released for lack of work, no notice
will be mailed to the employer.

How Does the Appeal Process Wor k?

When an apped is received from either the claimant
or the employer, the Appeal Tribunal schedules a
hearing and notifies all interested parties of the time
and place of the hearing. Testimony in these
hearings is under oath and recorded. An
Administrative Hearing Officer considers the record
and renders a decision. Copies of the decision are
mailed to al interested parties. Further appea of
this decision may be made to the Board of Review
within 10 days from the date the decision was
mailed. After the opinion of the Board of Review is
issued, further appeal may be made within 30 days
to the district court having jurisdiction.

What is Misconduct?

A clamant discharged from their last work for
misconduct connected to the work is subject to
disqualification for benefits. In cases of discharge
for misconduct, the burden of proof to establish
misconduct is on the employer. To lift the
disgualification, the claimant must be reemployed
and earn wages equal to or in excess of ten (10)
times their weekly benefit amount.

Misconduct shall include, but is not limited to the
following:

. Any intentional act or omission by an employee
which constitutes a material or substantial
breach of the employee’s job duties or
responsibilities or obligations pursuant to his or
her employment or contract of employment;

. Unapproved or excessive absenteeism or

tardiness;

. Indifference to, breach of, or neglect of the
duties required which result in a materia or
substantial breach of the employee’s job duties
or responsibilities;

. Actions or omissions that place in jeopardy the
health, life, or property of self or others;

. Dishonesty;
. Wrongdoing;
. Violation of alaw; or

. A violation of apolicy or rule enacted to ensure
orderly and proper job performance or for the
safety or self or others.




NEW HIRE REPORTING

What isthe Purpose of New Hire
Reporting?

The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) requires
employers to report certain information on their
newly hired employees to a designated state

agency.

On December 8, 2010, the President signed the
Claims Resolution Act (Public Law 111-291) into
law, which resolves several clams against the
government and extends the Temporary Assistance
for Needy Families and related programs. The law
aso makes reforms to the Unemployment
Insurance program, including the requirement that
employers report to the State Directory of New
Hires (SDNH) the date that an employee first
performs services for pay. Thisis an anti-fraud
measure aimed at reducing the number of
overpayments to individuals receiving
unemployment insurance benefits. The law
amends section 453 A of the Socia Security Act
effective June 8, 2011, and the new SDNH
reporting requirements go into effect on that day.

OESC is the designated state agency in Oklahoma
that receives these new hire reports. The Child
Support Enforcement Divison (CSED) of the
Oklahoma Department of Human Services is the
repository for Oklahoma's directory of new hires.
Many states have selected their child support
program as the designated state agency to receive
the new hire reports. The Oklahoma Legislature
determined that since employers are accustomed to
reporting quarterly wage data to OESC, it would be
less burdensome for employers to report their new
hire reports to OESC as well. OESC and CSED

have partnered together to develop the OES-112,
New Hire Reporting Form, data file layout and a
pamphlet.

New hires must be reported within 20 days of the
employee' s start date of performing services. The
Date of Hireis being redefined to mean the date that
an employee actualy started performing services
instead of the date they are hired.

Employers play akey role in thisimportant program
by reporting all newly hired employees to OESC
which then forwards all new hire reporting
information to the Oklahoma CSED.

What isNew Hire I nformation Used
For?

CSED will match new hire reports against their
child support records to locate parents, establish a
child support order or enforce an existing order.
Once these matches are done, Oklahoma will
transmit the new hire reports to the National
Directory of New Hires (NDNH). OESC may also
use the state new hire information to detect and
prevent erroneous benefit payments. In addition,
the Department of Human Services (DHS) can
conduct matches between the new hire database and
other state programs to prevent unlawful or
erroneous receipt of public assistance payments.
The information provided will be used to match
new hires against unemployment benefit claims
to help detect and prevent fraudulent
unemployment payments.




NEW HIRE REPORTING

New Hire Reporting Benefits You!

A direct benefit to employersisthe reduction and
prevention of fraudulent unemployment and
workers compensation payments. Timely receipt
of new hire data allows OESC to cross-match this
data against its active unemployment claimant
files and ether stop payments or recover
erroneous payments. To ensure a correct match,
it isimportant to provide both a name and Social
Security Number.

What is The Deadline For Reporting New
Hires?

All newly hired employees must be reported to
OESC within 20 days of being hired if an employer
Is reporting by mail or fax. Employers who report
electronically must report at least twice monthly,
within at least 20 days of an employee being hired.
“Date started to work” is defined as the first day
services are performed by the employee for awage.

How Do States Know Where Ther State's
New Hires are Being Reported?

The Nationa Directory of New Hires (NDNH) will
maintain a list of those multi-state employers that
have elected to use single-state notification. The
designated reporting locations of those employers
will be made available to al states so they can be
aware of where their state's new hires are being
reported.

What Form is Used to Report New Hires?

Employers are encouraged to report new hires by
either submitting reports by electronic media or by
mailing or faxing a copy of the OES-112, New Hire
Reporting Form.

https://www.ok.gov/oesc/newhire/app/forms/oes-
112 NewHire rev 11-11.pdf

It is suggested that an employer complete one form
with their Federal Employer Identification Number
(FEIN), Oklahoma Employer Account Number,
company name, payroll address and telephone
number and then make several photocopies of this
form. This way, an employer only needs to add
employee specific information. Because not all
legally required data is included on W-4 forms, it is
not recommended that employers use W-4s for new
hire reporting purposes.

How isthe New Hire Data Safequar ded?

Security and privacy of new hire data are important
issues for al those involved in the implementation of
this nationwide program. Oklahoma law requires
safeguarding confidential information. All data will
be sent from Oklahoma to the National New Hire
Directory over secure and dedicated lines. Federal
law requires that the Secretary of the Department of
Health and Human Services establish and implement
safeguards to protect the integrity and security of
information in the National Directory of New Hires
and to restrict access to and use of the information to
authorized persons and purposes.




NEW HIRE REPORTING

How Do | Submit New Hire Data?

New hire data may be submitted in avariety of ways.

® OESC recommends that businesses use the
convenient online new hire reporting system.

https://www.ok.gov/oesc/newhire/app/index.php

w Dataisentered directly into the system for each
employee and may be entered at the employer's
convenience by entering as many or as few
records at atime as desired.

Businesses who currently have their own
computerized personnel or accounting system
in place and who gather all of the required data
for their employees may wish to submit
electronically. A filelayout is provided at:

https://www.ok.gov/oesc/newhire/app/
newhire ascii file specs.html

Employers may create their file using the
provided layout and submit the file through our
online process or copy to a CD according to
the instructions and mail to the following
address.

Fax or mail to:

Oklahoma New Hire Reporting Center
P.O. Box 52004

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73152-2004
Toll free fax: (800) 317-3786

Local fax: (405) 557-5350

How Do Multi-State Employers Report
to One State?

Employers may not report new hires using both
multi-state and single-state methods. They must
choose one or the other.

If an employer chooses to report new hire data on all
employees to only one of the states in which they
have a presence, they must comply with the
following requirements:

@ Notify the Secretary of Health and Human
Services in writing, specifying which state the
employer has designated as recipient of al
their new hire information for their entire
business.

The notification should be mailed to:

Department of Health and Human Services
Multistate Employer Registration

Office of Child Support Enforcement

P.O. Box 509

Randallstown, MD 21133

(202) 401-9267

At a minimum, the employer should include the
employer's name and address. The following
optional information is also recommended:

w Federa Employer Identification Number

(FEIN)
Employer phone number

States in which the company does business
Estimated number of new hires per year

Corporate point of contact for clarification of
data




NEW HIRE REPORTING

® Transmit al new hire information
electronically in accordance with the
designated state's requirements. An
employer does not need to report the
required elements from each state in which
they have employees. Employers are only
asked to report what is required by the state
they have selected for reporting purposes

Please note, however, that if an employer chooses
to report to one state, the information may not be
available to the employee's work state for
purposes of detecting fraud in the unemployment
insurance or workers' compensation programs.

What if | Have M ore Questions on New Hire Reporting?

If you have questions about new hire reporting, contact the New Hire Unit at (405) 557-7133,
toll free at (800) 317-3785 or viae-mail at webmaster@oesc.state.ok.us.

Questions regarding income assignments or other matters relating
to Child Support should be directed to (405) 522-5871 or:

Department of Human Services
Child Support Enforcement Division
P.O. Box 53552

Oklahoma City, OK 73152




EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITY

How to Register asa New Employer in
Oklahoma?

The €igibility requirements are explained in the
“How is my Status Determined?’ section below. To
obtain the required forms, contact the Employer
Compliance Department or visit our website at
https.//www.ok.gov/oesc/. The OES-1, Application
for Oklahoma Unemployment Insurance Tax
Account Number can now be completed online at:

https://eztaxexpress.oesc.state.ok.us

What Reports and Forms are Needed to
Reqgister?

All new or reinstated businesses are required to
submit an OES1. Once an employer becomes
subject, an Oklahoma account number is assigned,
and reports are mailed to the employer every calendar
quarter unless a previous report was filed online. The
quarterly wage report is due by the last day of the
month following the end of the calendar quarter.

Beginning January 1, 2017, al employers and third
party administrators (TPAs) employer are required to
file electronicaly viaEZ Tax Express.

What Penalties are I ssued for Reimbursing
Employers?

A penalty is assessed for failure to file Form OES-3,
Employer’s Contribution Report within 15 days of
Notice of Non-Receipt in the amount of $10 each day
until the report is filed up to a maximum of $100. If
reimbursing payments are not made within 45 days of
the mailing of the Quarterly Statement for
Reimbursement of Benefits Paid, a penalty of 5
percent of the amount due will be added. Interest
accrues at 1 percent per month until paid.

How is my Status Deter mined?

An employer is subject to report and pay the
unemployment insurance tax if that employer meets
any one of the criteria found on pages 12-16, under
General Provisions and Definitions.

When Can | Stop Filing a Quarterly
Wage Reports?

Y ou may stop filing reportsif you have:

® Closed your business and will have no further
payroll

® Sold your business and will have no further
payroll

This information needs to be submitted in writing
and should include the date the business closed or
was sold and the name and address of the new
owner. The OES-24, Termination of Business in
Whole or Part can be completed to close the
account with or without a new owner.

The OES-24, Termination of Businessin Whole or
Part can now be completed online at
https.//eztaxexpress.oesc.state.ok.us, or by visiting
our website at https.//www.ok.gov/oesc/.

What are the Penaltiesfor Not Filing or
Paying Required Reports or
Contributions by Due Date?

To assure compliance with the Employment Security
Act of 1980 and avoid the extra expense connected
with obtaining and processing delinquent reports, the
Act provides for the following penalties which attach
to reports and payments not submitted when due.

A penalty is assessed for failure to file Form OES-3,
Employer's Contribution Report in the amount of
$100, plus 10 percent of the contribution due, if the
report is not filed within 15 days of notice of non-
receipt. Interest accrues at 1 percent per month on
past due contributions.




EZ TAX EXPRESS

What is EZ Tax Express?

To better serve Oklahoma, OESC has developed an
internet portal, called “EZ Tax Express,” to enable
employers to perform many of the functions via the
internet that were previously completed on paper.

https://eztaxexpress.oesc.state.ok.us

Beginning January 1, 2017, all employers and third
party administrators (TPAS) employer are required
to file electronicaly via EZ Tax Express.

OESC Rules §240:10-5-91 Reports:

(1) This subsection shall apply to all Employer’s
Quarterly Contribution and Wage Reports that
are duefor filing after January 1, 2011.

(2) All employers with an assigned Oklahoma Sate
Unemployment Tax Act (SUTA) account
number shall be required to file the Employer’s
Quarterly Contribution and Wage Report
through the employer portal on the Commission
Internet website.

(3) All third party administrators shall be required
to file the Employer’s Quarterly Contribution
and Wage Report through the employer portal
on the Commission Internet website for clients
with an assigned Oklahoma SUTA account
number.

What Features are Available Through
EZ Tax Express?

When using the OESC EZ Tax Express, employers
will be able to:

w Apply online as a new employer to obtain an
Oklahoma Employer Account Number

w File their Oklahoma Employer’s Quarterly
Contribution Report

= Pay their Oklahoma Unemployment Tax
online

View ther Oklahoma  Employer’s
Quarterly Contribution Reports

View thar tax rate information
View their tax account information
View the status of appeals

Submit a request to place their Oklahoma
Employer Account Number in inactive status

Perform a limited update of employer contact
information

How Do | Register For Or Reactivate An
Oklahoma Unemployment Tax Account
Number ?

Through EZ Tax Express, employers can complete
the OES1, Application for Oklahoma
Unemployment Insurance Tax Account Number
online and submit it to obtain an Oklahoma SUTA
account number or to reactivate their Oklahoma
SUTA account number. The completed report is
submitted to the Employer Compliance Unit for
review. The employer will be notified by mail once
the account is established or reactivated.

(https://eztaxexpress.oesc.state.ok.us)

Am | Eligibleto Filean OES-3 Using EZ
Tax Express?

Oklahoma employers may file their, Oklahoma
Employers Quarterly Contribution Report
through EZ Tax Express if both of the following are
true:

» The employer's account is active for the
quarter of filing and

= A report has not already been filed




EZ TAX EXPRESS

What Can Be Viewed OnlineUsing EZ
Tax Express?

How Do | Usethe EZ Tax Express Online
Payment Option?

When using the EZ Tax Express online payment
option, employers will be able to:

Enter a specific amount to be paid

Select the specific quarter and year to which
to apply the payment

Make a payment to be processed the same day
or schedule a payment for alater pay date

Print a copy of their online payment
confirmation for their records

In addition, third party filers and bulk filers will be
ableto:

» Display individual employer amounts to be
paid

w Edit each
amount

individual employer payment

Electronic funds transfer (EFT) isavital part of daily
business activity. EFT alows employers to
maximize their monetary resources by providing
more control of their money flow. It is designed to
be secure and cost-effective and to move funds in a
fast and timely manner. As of November 8, 2018
employer can now pay with a credit card.

Benefitsthat EFT offers to employersinclude:
= Control of bank account activity
® Timely payment of contributions

® Avoidance of postal delays and restrictive
postal time schedules

Secured method of payment

EFT is available to all employers for payment of
unemployment  contributions and reimbursable
charges.

-0]
-0
-0
-0
-]
-0
-0]
-0
-0
-0

Current Mailing Address
Current Business Address

Address Change History (changes made
through EZ Tax only)

View Status Report (submitted through EZ
Tax only)

Account Balance

Benefit Wage Charge Appedls
Benefit Wage Charges

Tax Warrants

Tax Appeals

Tax Payments (all payments)
Tax Refunds

Employer Contribution Rate
IRS FUTA Certification

Termination Report (submitted through EZ
Tax only)

Quarterly Contribution Reports (submitted
through EZ Tax only)

Payment History (submitted through EZ Tax
only)
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EZ TAX EXPRESS

How Do | Update Account | nformation Using EZ Tax Express?

When using the Update Account Information option, employers will be able to:

» Complete the OES-24, Termination Report online (employers are notified by mail when
the account is terminated)

=  Update mailing address, phone number and contact information

Changes to international addresses cannot be updated in EZ Tax Express at this time.

|
|
Please send requests for international address corrections to:

Oklahoma Employment Security Commission
Attn: Employer Compliance Department

P.O. Box 52003

Oklahoma City, OK 73152-2003




UNEMPLOYMENT FRAUD

OESC is responsible for protecting the
Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund. We have a
dedicated fraud detection unit to identify and
recommend criminal prosecution for those who
commit fraud.

NOTE: Fraud, for Unemployment Insurance
purposes, is knowingly making a false statement,
misrepresenting a material fact, or withholding
information to obtain unemployment benefits. If
you are found guilty, you will be required to
monetarily repay any funds plus penalty and
interest. All fraud cases are subject to possible
criminal prosecution, fines and imprisonment.

Be On The L ookout for Claimant Fraud!

If you are made aware of an employee working and
still collecting unemployment, please contact the
Fraud Detection Unit at (405) 557-7164.

What Acts Constitute Employer Fraud?

It is a crime to commit unemployment insurance
fraud. 40 O.S. 85-103 states that an employer who
makes a false statement or representation knowing it
to be false or fails to disclose a material fact is guilty
of amisdemeanor. Individuas who commit fraud are
subject to fines, penaties and/or criminal
prosecution.

Acts that constitute employer fraud include:
® Misclassifying workers
® |ncorrectly reporting wages

Providing false information to prevent an
otherwise eligible clamant from obtaining
unemployment insurance benefits

Failing to pay unemployment insurance taxes
Failing to report necessary information
Prohibiting inspection

Engaging in SUTA dumping, or the
manipulation of tax rates to pay a lower tax
rate than the earned experience rate




Employers, Help Us Fight

FRAUD

Report New Hireswithin 20 days of the first date of employment.

* Reduce Unemployment Insurance taxes where benefits would have otherwise been
charged against an employer's experience rating account

* Prevent overpayments or allow early detection of overpayments, resulting in
substantial savings to the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund

* Reduce unemployment benefit payments that might otherwise have been paid to
workers who refuse suitable jobs or are working full-time

* Allow OESC staff to investigate fraudulent claims and access overpayments quicker

* Help one of our partner agencies, Oklahoma Department Of Human Services, locate
parents and enforce an existing order for child support

* You may obtain the OK New Hire Reporting form at the same website address above
and click on Emplover Forms. This form mav be sent:

e By Mail - OK New Hire Reporting - P.O. Box 52003, Oklahoma City, OK 73152-2003

e By Toll Free Fax 1 (800) 317-3786 or Local Fax (405) 557-5350

NOTE: Pleaseremember toincludetheworker’sfull social security number and the hire date.

Please visit the OESC website: https://www.ok.gov/oesc/newhire/app/helpful_hints.php for
more information about New Hire Reporting. You may also email your questions to
newhires@oesc.state.ok.us or call the New Hire Unit at (405) 557-7133.




OKILAHOMA WORKS CENTER LOCATIONS

OKLAHOMA WORKS SERVICE CENTER LOCATIONS

Ada

Altus
Ardmore
Bartlesville
Chickasha
Duncan
Durant

Enid

L ]

[

e

Guymon
Idabel

Lawton
McAlester
Miami

Muskogee

Norman

OKC Eastside

Okmulgee

Ponca City

Poteau
Pryor

Sapulpa

Seminole

OKC Brookwood Shawnee

Stillwater
Tahlequah
Tulsa
Weatherford

Woodward

Note: Click on the Oklahoma Works Center to find

information on a center near you.

Proud Partner of
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For Copies of Form go to https://www.ok.gov/oesc/documents/OES-1.pdf.
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Instructionsfor preparation of form OES-1, Application for Oklahoma Ul Tax Account Number

1. Enter the name by which the business is known. Examples. “A & B Hardware”, Whiteway Theater, McDonalds,
O'Reilly’s, Starbucks, etc. List your business telephone number.

2. Enter Your Federal Identification Account Number.

3. Enter address to which forms for reports, notices and correspondence should be mailed by Commission.

4. Enter acheck mark after the word that properly describes type of ownership of your business.

5. Enter full name, residence address, telephone number and Social Security Number of all owners, partners, corporate
officers or members. Attach additional sheet if sufficient space is not provided. All corporate officers, including officers
of Sub-Chapter S corporations, are considered employees for unemployment tax reports.

6. Enter full corporate name (as it appears on your corporate seal), date of incorporation or filing and State which
incorporated.

7.  When you reported to the U.S. Internal Revenue Service that you were chartering a limited liability company, you were
required to “check the box” on IRS Form 8832 to inform them how you wanted to be taxed. Y our answer here should be
the same as you selected for federal tax purposes.

Enter the email address you want contacted for your business.
If your answer is“Yes’, please attach a copy of your letter of exemption from the Internal Revenue Service.

10. Date your firm entered business in Oklahoma.

11. Enter the earliest date on which services were performed in Oklahoma.

12. Enter the date first payroll was issued for services performed in Oklahoma.

13. State what kind of business you operate in Oklahoma and the principal product manufactured or traded.

14. If your answer was “Yes’, please enter name and address of former owner and date acquired.

15. If “Yes', enter the year you first became liable.

16. Self explanatory.

17. List addresses of al locations in Oklahoma where services are performed. If the physical location of your businessis
out of state, you must till list the Oklahoma address where services are performed even if they are performed by home-
based employees. Attach additional sheet if necessary.

18. Enter gross payroll of your business by quarter for the current year and the preceding two (2) calendar years
(Oklahoma payroll only).

19. Enter by week the number of workersto whom you furnished employment in Oklahoma. Include both full-time and
part-time employees. Indicate current calendar year employment followed by employment in preceding calendar years.
A week is seven (7) consecutive calendar days beginning at 12:01 A.M. Sunday and ending at 12:00 midnight on the
next succeeding Saturday.

20. Must be signed by owner, partner, corporate officer or authorized official.

Mail completed and signed form to: Oklahoma Employment Security Commission

Attn: Employer Compliance

PO Box 52003

Oklahoma City OK 73152-2003
(405)557-5330; fax (405)557-7271
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For Copies of Forms go to https://www.ok.gov/oesc/newhire/app/forms.php?report=oes112 type
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For Copies of Forms go to https://www.ok.gov/oesc/newhire/app/forms/oes-7.pdf
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For Copies of Forms go to https://www.ok.gov/oesc/newhire/app/forms/OES 24 rev 9 13.pdf
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CEE8TT (11~ 3} MNotice of Application for Unemiployment Compensation
Failure 1 Reapond Could Affect Your Tax Rale

DRLAHOM A EMPLOY MEH'EI'EEEEI?::;T WHMIEE;?W EMPLOYER NAME
pﬁau " mL :!"55 3 nl 08 CEHT EMPLOYER ADDRESS
OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73152 ACCTH:

FAX: 405-962-T524

CLAIMANT'S NAME — Clain 10

has applied for Unemplaymant Compansation benalits under ihe Oklahoma Employmant Sacurity Acl. Thiss individudl stabid thai
separation from empioymenton  08-10-2014 wasa resull ol LACKE OF WORK

Your written reply must be faxed 10 §05-962-7524  (orsent by US Mail to the address shown abave). Your reply must be
receiwed of posimarked withinten days o 10-14-2004 - Otberwise, this wil affect you, the srnpicyer, being &N intarested party
ta the- claim. 1 you are & third party admirisirator subrmitting a ressponse on behall of your client employer, please read the paragraph entited
=240 10-3-53. mmmmum Filing Eequiremeang.

Onily B PRADONGS ACCONCng b 5 50 i Co) will makn you &N inserested party 1o Ha
separason. Hoeever, mmmmmwm Mumhhhmﬂmmmﬂukmﬂmﬂrhrmam
Inlcermation fumished by you will be shown 10 i individual,

Section 2-503 of the Oklahoma Employmant Sacurity Act
&, Cladms for benaefits shall be made im accordancs with such nulg as tha Ciclaboma Employrment Security Commission may presceibe,

B. Promptiy atiesr the initiad claim or the addiSional initial clasm s filed, the Cosmmission shall g writien notics of tha clisim o the st emploper
ol the: claimand for whom he or sihe worked o8 leost fittlgen (55) woeking days:. Promptiy after the Commession s notified of the claimant’s
separafion hom an smployenent obtained by a claimant during a continued Claim seros, he Commission shall give wiithen noice of the claim
B thir last separaling smployer.  Notices o separating employes durimg a continued o will b given 1 the [ast emgkoyer in e claim
sl withiaut regand 10 length of empicyment.

C. Fﬁmmmﬂmupﬁdhﬂﬂh it wsink ol banadits, e Comimission

potice ol e cladim 1o all alfer emplopens of
of s litle.
il secliiradaed bo ihe emphoryers: sl-Krowe

HII!'HI Peloticam shall B peoayeTad Peima (oo o Rave Dapn addroaad on th dabd ciobed im tha weithan

nolice.
. Wikt ban (101 days attas B alnbs of the noliss of Bha 35 SR Bevahadia i which tha nobos was Sen, whithaver = alar,
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syt i o cho oot Bl e rmcuson wass justified. 1 the individ_ial waes fred, sxpisn
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